Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Ell Warrener on I AM Titanium! So, people, nev…
marysayer on I AM Titanium! So, people, nev…

Archives

Categories

Meta

For my Friend

Shelly – my friend, you were there for me when no one else would
My little rock who protected me like no one else could
You were a clearing in the meadow, a refreshing rest for my failing soul
Caring for me, and feeding me, letting me cry when I wasn’t whole

You were a ledge that prevented me, from falling all the way down
When the waves of my grief engulfed me and I felt like I would drown
You had your own sorrow to deal with, and you were hurting too
Yet you put that to one side, and as a dear friend you really grew

You tucked me up in comfort when all I could do was shake
When my being felt totally empty and my heart had nothing left to break
You tried your best to conceal me from others’ cruel words and negative doubt
When I knew no-one else believed me, and the real truth I wanted to shout

You behaved more like a sister, than a person’s own flesh and blood
More nurturing than a mother, acting more like a mother should
My grief turned to a new sadness – of knowing I couldn’t repay the kind
The kindness you had showed me, my growing doubts would leave you behind

Don’t be anxious or worry for me, for there is no need for you to fear
But know in your heart I think of you and that I’m always near
My life has turned from a dark, cold winter to a warm and sunny spring
I know I am loved by Jehovah, who keeps me safe under His wing



Leave a comment